The first step in a long trip.

Just as a long journey begins with the first  step, so did my journey to finding my way back to a healthy life. I know that most people would have went straight to their doctor and run a battery of tests. What does “running a battery of tests” mean anyway? I’ll tell you what it means, you start at your internal medicine doctor and give them your main complaints. In my case it would have been my extreme fatigue and rapid weight gain. The usual CBC (complete blood count) would have been done and maybe the ever present TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) test as well. Factoring in my age, over 40 and my sex, female they would have concluded that I needed to get on a heart-healthy diet, exercise more and for heaven’s sake stop smoking and drinking (2 things I don’t do).  Had I mentioned my depression and mood changes, I would have been prescribed an anti-depressant in record time with the promise that if it didn’t work they could add 1 or 2 more anti-depressants to make sure it did.  The reason I know that this is how my doctor encounter would have turned out is because I saw it happening all around me to friends, and family members. No real answers. Not even any real effort to allow the patient to talk about what their body is going through, just a 5 min consultation adding up symptom A with symptom B and prescribing the “most popular” medication C. I also was a Medical Transcriptionist by career and after 9+ years of doing medical reports you already know what the doctors are going to prescribe based on symptoms before you even get to the end of the report.

That was not the road I happened to land on, thank God, and I really do thank God. You see, I had no health insurance at that time, due to the economy and my husband being laid off,,,blah, blah,blah. You have heard the story dozens of times by now either in your own life or people you know so no long explanation is needed. At the time, with how lousy I was feeling and the fact that no amount of healthy eating or exercise was getting me anywhere,,,I was desperate for answers. I felt sorry for myself that I was doomed to the “no insurance” crowd and yet God had a plan in it all.

At this point in my story, I must introduce to you a friend of mine that has walked along side me through this journey. She was not a strong healthy friend that took pity on me and helped me up ; no she was a sick, unhealthy friend that came and crawled along beside me in this journey; at least until we could stand,,and then walk and now as we are both doing much better we appreciate the fact that we had each other to  bounce feelings, ideas and opinions off, and someone who really knew what I was going through because she was living it herself. In fact, I must say that she had it much worse than I did. She had suffered with extreme fibromyalgia for years, to the point of being on multiple medications, anti-depressants,etc, and the whole gamut of pills that conservative medicine throws at you in attempt to make you think you’re healed. Your body knows better though and in the end you are left wearing a medication band-aid on a very painful and chronic illness.  The meds just add to the health problems with their own side-effects, plus the knowledge that you are probably poisoning important vital organs in your body. You know we probably need those organs healthy too.  Gee, ya think? So you see these health issues that had just recently started in me, she had been dealing with for many, many moons. As it happened, my friend found out from another friend,,, (isn’t that just how it happens sometimes) about a doctor that had treated her, and she had great results. Now this doctor was not your average MD, but rather a chiropractor who was studying to be a Certified Nutritionist. Yeah, I know it sounds weird, but weird can be good sometimes and this time it was awesome.

After much prayer and believing she had heard from God on the issue, my friend started seeing this doctor and I knew something was right. In the morning when we would meet to walk, instead of the regular zombie-like appearance, she was glowing and happy and darn-it, she looked like she actually had some good sleep! She began to tell me, with all the excitement of a person who was just struck gold, all about this doctor that she had met and what he was having her do to feel better. Having known her for a while, I could see a remarkable change in her and if he could do this for her, I wanted to see this doctor.  I had to know what he did and what did he give you? (there had to be a wonder pill for this kind of energy) Her answer stunned me. As we walked in the park, she began to share how this doctor changed her diet. What?…diet? Boy what a change too.  This is what he did. He removed all processed foods from her diet-BAM, gone. He removed all sugar-BAM,,(this one is painful). He removed all caffeine.  He put her on an organic food diet. I had heard of organics, but never thought much about them other than that they cost too much.  I expected her to tell me about her pitiful little food supply and how she was starving her way to good health, but her glowing face and pepping step proved different. What she did convey to me was a healthy diet menu, and the doctor encourage her to eat a little something every 2-3 hours. Now what kind of doctor puts you on a diet and then tells you to eat more often?

Leave a Reply

